20th June 2009
Landore v Hills Plymouth

(Second XI)


Hills Plymouth                                                                           172 for 8 in 50 overs

Landore                                                                                  173 for 7 in 46.3 overs

Landore put the visitors in to bat, and Hills lost their first wicket with 6 runs on the board, Andrew Williams caught off the bowling of I Evans. Skipper Phil Lewis struck 4 boundaries for his 16, and was then caught at mid-off off S Davies. Clive Owen and Matthew Lewis put on 63 for the next wicket until Lewis was adjudged lbw to S Tancock for 29. Youngster Matthew Davies fell without scoring and Aled Walters for 5, both bowled by C Gray.

Veteran batsman Owen meanwhile was stroking his way to an excellent 84, which included 14 boundaries, until he was finally clean-bowled by Evans. Evans claimed another scalp when Ian Hargreaves was caught at slip without scoring. Adam Prosser hit 3 fours in his knock of 15, until he was caught off Gray. Andrew Mortimer and Andrew Hargreaves completed the innings, both undefeated on 9 and 2 respectively.

Landore made a slow start, losing two early wickets – Hydmend run out by Andrew Hargreaves for 1 and J Summerfield caught by Adam Prosser off the bowling of Matthew Davies for 1. Andrew Hargreaves chipped in with 2 wickets, having Gray caught by Prosser for 11 and Morris caught by the bowler himself for 13. Things were looking good for Hills at this stage, but then came the match-winning partnership.

S Davies had reached 35 when he was bowled by Matthew Lewis, and D Summerfield scored a fine 69, until he was finally bowled by Phil Lewis. Matthew took his second wicket when he had A Jones caught for 7 runs, but the damage had been done. I Evans  (4 not out) and C Evans (7 not out) reached the target for Landore in the 44th over.

Landore claim 23 points, Hills 7 points.


Make a Free Website with Yola.